Snark Time

After catching up with Can You Hear My Heart and waiting for this week’s subtitles for Romance Town, I decided to conjure up this possible snark fest of a post. This post is really, a first impression post, for THE REST. As in, the rest of the dramas I’m sort of, kind of, probably watching. This is also a list of dramas I did check out but ended up dropping after the first couple of episodes or even halfway.

City Hunter, I’m watching as we speak. Not the most impressive first 20 minutes, but the general idea is intriguing tho. I’m enjoying the portion of the senior actors a lot though for now. Also, City Hunter presents an interesting case of minus times minus might become a plus. See, I’m not enamoured with either Lee Minho or Park Minyoung. And this might be a good thing after all. If my favour leans heavily toward one half of the main coupling, the end result is usually a disaster. But now that I’m quite indifferent to both, the coupling might just be enjoyable. No?

Best Love, as I mentioned, was fun. It just finished last week and I managed to catch the last episode, just to see how things turned out. For me, if I hadn’t seen other Hong Sisters dramas, Best Love would be a perfect offering. It’s light, it’s fun, and it’s hilarious to boot. But as it is, I have seen the Hongs’ 5 previous dramas and am pretty familiar with their style. Too familiar. Halfway through, I started fast forwarding, and one day, I just decided I didn’t want to watch it anymore. And all this was happening while I was having a generally good impression about Best Love. So I don’t know what to say.

Lie To Me was awful. Awfully boring. It took a lot of willpower to finish the first episode. And no, I could not finish the second episode either. The million dollar question is: will Yoon Eunhye EVER pick a good project again?

I Need Romance was interesting. I rarely ever watch Choi Yeojin acting, but she’s one of those people who I like, just from appearance. So, really, I just wanted to watch this for her. One thing I didn’t like about it was how similar it was to Sex and the City, down to the opening score! But in all honesty, I don’t get the romantic chemistry, even if the friendship chemistry is quite there. I might pick this up again, just to see if it got more watchable.

Babyfaced Beauty is that drama that I just keep hearing how cute and lovely it really is. I had a problem with how Jang Nara’s character becomes the go-to punching bag. I know we’re supposed to root for her, but they literally drive down that point by, well, driving her down, crushing her from all directions. Her family is useless, her coworkers are assholes, her competition is a spoiled little bitch. Instead of igniting my sympathy, the drama ended up turning me off. But then again, I just keep hearing good things about it, so who knows, might be picked up again.

Heartstrings barely even flies under my radar. Yonghwa is a great musician, but why must they push him to acting projects over and over again? Heartstrings will most likely be the last on my to watch list. I will exhaust the list FIRST before even thinking of checking it out. Judgemental, much? Yes, yes I am.

By the way, I so need to do a whole post on Can You Hear My Heart, just because it’s blowing my mind SOFAKING much. I like and enjoy Romance Town, but it’s CYHMH that gets me into this tweeting frenzy, spastic movements all around.

One response to “Snark Time

  1. agreed on Choi Yeo-jin. I dig her looks – is it the eyes? I find that the shorter length of episodes in I Need Romance is refreshing, and really nice soundtrack.

Leave a Reply

