My Princess

First My Princess is a pretty meh drama. Second, I LOVE IT!!!

My Princess is one of those cases. You know the storyline is as flimsy as a leaf, the pace is all wrong, it’s slow and cofused; things just sort of trudging along with no particular direction in sight. You know the acting is only passable, Park Yejin is like a dead fish (which is funny because back in Family Outing, killing fish was her specialty) whereas Kim Taehee and Song Seungheon are, well, themselves. At the end of the day, you know you’re not watching a quality drama. Heck, I wouldn’t even call it good, not in a million years. So how come I, who is the most impatient viewer ever, continue to be so devoted to the drama??

One, despite the acting deficiencies, Kim Taehee and Song Seungheon really hit it off fantastically on screen. Saying that they have a great chemistry is the biggest understatement. To be fair, they are two pretty people and generally when two pretty people are put together on screen, chances are viewers are gonna love it. But it is not a given that two pretty actors would have great chemistry. Lee Minho had more chemistry with Lee Minjung than Goo Hyesun in Boys Over Flowers whereas Chae Rim and Choi Siwon had zero chemistry in Oh My Lady. What I’m trying to say is that while there is a good chance Kim and Song would make the screen crackle, it was not proven yet. But the thing is, they exceded all expectations I had. I expected a cute coupling, with enough cute dialogues and cute moments, who will end up in a cute way. Instead, we got a CUTE CUTE CUTE couple. The level of sweetness and cuteness is literally three times what I anticipated.

Another thing I love is that there’s a great dynamic where I see the male and female lead as equal. In a lot of drama couples, you can see things tip off in one direction. Be it your preference in the actors or character/acting strength, many times one of the two comes off better. For example, Secret Garden hullabaloo heavily leans toward Hyun Bin,whereas My Girlfriend is a Gumiho tips in Shin Minah’s direction. But in this drama, I love both characters equally. And not in the ‘I’m indifferent to both so they’re on the same league technically’. I really enjoy both characters, Princess Lee Seol and her P-Gun Park Haeyeong, immensely. I think not only do Kim and Song have great chemistry, they complete each other. It is only when they are on screen together that my day just explodes into squeal/giggle fest.

Progress and direction have all gone bust at this point. When a drama with a lot to say, like The World They Live In, moves slowly, it doesn’t really matter because a lot of other things sustain the drama well. But My Princess isn’t such drama. It’s not trying to analyze human psychology, it’s merely trying to give us an entertaining 8 week run. So progress or pace is crucial. It is no wonder that the drama is already losing viewers, proven by its flagging ratings, because nothing in this drama gets done! Normally, I would have run like the wind, but My Princess is again, a special case. I may like Kim and Song’s chemistry but the biggest thing that keeps me checked in is how much I love the relationship between Seol and Park Haeyeong.

This couple starts out bickering, like a zillion other k-drama couples. When I watch a drama, sometimes I wonder how the two main leads can connect when all they do is argue. I’ve come to accept that Arguing Couple is the golden rule of k-drama so I just take it in. But I appreciate My Princess a lot for actually SHOWING how these two can come to like one another. When Seol and Haeyeong bicker, there is no note of hostility like so many other couples have. They’re fun and flirty with each other, not like one is being an annoying pest and they other is just trying to get away but somehow fall in love. When they don’t bicker, they ACTUALLY talk a lot. Waaaayyyy more than romcom standard, and it is the best part of the drama.

Also, I love how forthright Seol is. A k-drama heroine tends to keep her feelings in wraps until The!Big!Reveal! whereas Seol slowly opens up and reveals how she feels about Haeyeong and it is so refreshing to see that. She kissed him first too! On the other hand, how can you not love how caring and attentive Haeyeong is? When I first read his character description, I thought ‘yeughh, this has been done to death’, spoiled rich chaebol kid with attitude problem. I’m pleasantly surprised at how….human Haeyeong turned out to be.

There are 3 more episodes to go. I think in the end My Princess will just be one of the many dramas. It’s not gonna spurn a love for a Pig-Rabbit doll, it’s not gonna incite so many Sparkly Tracksuits parodies. It’s never gonna be a culture phenomenon. But I think it’s gonna be one of the few dramas I will save on my harddisk.

2 responses to “My Princess

  1. Well, for one, this definitely sparked off a hair accessories craze.. and the bags were beautiful as well LOL!

  2. I loved this drama! I agree-their online chemistry is what made the whole thing sparkle, and kept me hooked.

Leave a Reply

