SBS Good Sunday Running Man

I’ve been on a semi hiatus because as my stay in Korea came to a close, I found out that I don’t really have anything to talk about. I’m not watching dramas either at the moment, so I’ve been pretty left out of the game. The only thing I still watch religiously is 1 Night 2 Days.

Coincidentally, the new SBS Sunday show who is called Running Man, is a new competitor for 1N2D. The idea of 1N2D having a competition is actually exciting. Personally, despite watching every single week, I recognize that 1N2D is not pulling on the gems anymore. It’s got its own pace and sticking to it and there are small surprises still, but concept-wise, it has not invented much recently. So the news of Running Man excited me on 2 levels: the fact that there’s a new variety show and the response spawned fom 1N2D.

But anyways, Running Man is fronted by Yoo Jaesuk, the National MC. There are 7 male members: the aforementioned Yoo Jaesuk, Star Golden Bell’s Ji Sukjin, Leessang’s Gary, Kim Jongkook, Haha, Highkick Through the Roof’s Lee Gwangsoo, and cutie Song Joongki.

Hmm, 7 members, all male? Sounds familiar? No, it’s not at all similar to 1N2D. At least not in the first episode. For one, there would be 2 or 3 weekly guests coming on the show, male and/or female, and second, the members and guests would be divided into two teams and compete against one another.

The first episode had Lee Hyori and Hwang Jungeum as guests. Lee Hyori is just the popular choice of guest for variety shows premiering, and plus she’s a former member of Family Outing, also on SBS Sunday, also housed Yoo Jaesuk and Kim Jongkook. And I suspect Hwang Jungeum is there as a support for fellow Highkick costar Lee Gwangsoo.

The first episode was okay. If I were to rate it, probably a 6 out of 10. It was not an immediate Golden, but it also was not bad at all. A few things I want to mention.

First off, I love that they put newer personas, like Song Joongki, Lee Gwangsoo, and Gary as members instead of inviting those familiar ones. These new people may need time to find their grooves, but already it feels more refreshing to see new people. I think Lee Gwangsoo has the most distinctive impression in the first episode. I saw him on Strong Heart and I thought somebody better grabbed this guy soon for a variety show. And I’m so glad somebody did. Gwangsoo was awkward and competitive, but really lovable at the same time. Plus, he’s got some great facial expressions.

While the general concept is still competition, I guess the segments will differ episode to episode. From the first episode, I thought some of the segments were really fun. The Coat Rack Race was so creative and the race gave some of the show’s most hilarious moments. The Photo Competition and the Chicken Fight were also really enjoyable.

Speaking of the guests, I’m actually glad that Lee Hyori was only a guest, not a permanent member. Hyori is a great sport and she’s got an awesome variety inkling, but her presence is really too big and intimidating for other female members to meet.¬† The old FO had many female guests, but really, it was only Kim Wonhee and fellow member Park Yejin who could equalize and/or even outshone Hyori. Even latter member Park Shiyeon ended up in the background. The same happened to Hwang Jungeum here.

However, my biggest question is, what the hell happened to Haha? I haven’t followed him since he got out of military and how he fit in with the Infinite Challenge team again. I’m beginning to wonder, did he fail like Kim Jongmin in 1N2D??? Haha is usually a total scene stealer and is always up to something weird and hilarious. But when I was listing the members’ names in my head, I actually forgot about Haha and had to google Running Man first.

Last point I want to mention is SBS editing style. Which I personally don’t like. I’m making a comparison with KBS here because the only variety show out of MBC that I watch is We Got Married. But anyways, I was watching some KBS shows like Invincible Baseball, Invincible Youth, and of course 1N2D. With those shows, the editing only enhances the footages, it doesn’t tell you what to watch. Those shows feel more reality based, rather than setup. I’m nowhere near fluent in filmmaking, but that’s just how I feel when comparing shows from those two stations.

With SBS, it feels more like footage cuts being pieced together to make one interesting show, whereas with KBS it feels more like one interesting show whose parts are cut for time management. True, it depends on what kind of show you want to make. I thought SBS’s style worked well on actually structured¬† show like X-Man and Love Letter cos both shows were scripted. But it doesn’t work on newer shows that has more “reality” infused, like Family Outing and Running Man, or talk shows like Strong Heart. Anyways, I don’t know what I’m spouting here.

Next episode has Goo Hara, Lee Chunhee (yayyyyy!), and Song Jihyo. Lee Chunhee was one of my fav in FO and Song Jihyo’s episode was a lot of fun as well. Plus, Goo Hara is an emerging talent in variety shows. I’m approaching the next episode with excitement. And lots of it!

EDIT: Couldn’t last through the first 10 minutes of episode 2. Rating down by about 4% as well. Wonder if Running Man can actually run.

On the other hand, I did watch the first episode of another new SBS Good Sunday Heroes and if the first episode is any indication, it will be a very fun show.

3 responses to “SBS Good Sunday Running Man

  1. I could be wrong, but I thought the Family Outing Season 1 used to compete with 1N2D and gave it a run for its money for quite awhile. I like both shows, but I am more in sync with the Yoo Jaesuk’s humor more than Kang HoDong.

    • It did. Rating wise, I don’t think FO ever beat single rating of 1N2D, but it was very very close. FO’s ratings declined after a while, I think around the departure of Chunhee and Yejin.

  2. i really love running man way more compared to family outing 1..RM show is kind like a new and fresh tv shows that is very fun and neat to watch..not just because of the members but also because of the crew that is very supportive and sporting..seriously like i’ve never seen such a harmonious set of filming like in running man..and their jokes are like real and not a script type joke..not a lame joke but really fresh and fun..they know how to make the show alive..the mc are cool..good choice of yoo jae suk..he’s really the best mc ever.. =D

Leave a Reply

